Innovative Advising Award

The purpose of the Innovative Advising Award is to recognize the most creative and unique uses of technology and/or advising models that support academic advising. Electronic tools used to support and enhance advising can include, but are not limited to, advising websites, databases, software applications, online tutorials, electronic portfolios, DVDs and other web-based and non-web-based innovations to improve academic advising.

The recipient(s) of the Innovative Advising Award will receive a plaque and a cash award of $500 at the UAC Awards Breakfast in May.

The nominee(s) can be a College advising group, Departmental advising group, or an individual, and may not be the recipient of this award more than once in a five-year period. Any student, staff or faculty member may make a nomination. The nominations are judged on the basis of content, interactivity, clarity, and creativity. Nominators need to make sure that the Awards Committee can access any technology provided by providing a web-site, a CD, or DVD, or a password that provides access.

2021 Innovative Advising Nomination Criteria
2021 Innovative Advising Nomination Form

Innovative Advising Award Winners:

  • 2020 -- Lindsey Randolph, Amelia Parnis
  • 2019 -- Analicia Leiva
  • 2018 -- Daniel Springer
  • 2017 – Laura Olivarez
  • 2016 - Department of Psychology: Lisa Bowden, Zuleika Carrasco-Martinez, Jennifer Fleming, Lori Johnson
  • 2013 – Bonnie Bustos-Rios